county_tzs: County time zone designations

Description Usage Format Details Source See Also


A dataframe containing the Olson/IANA time zone designation of each US county, based on the county's Federal Information Processing Standard (FIPS) code. This dataset was put together based on county FIPS codes as of the 2010 US Census, using text from the two websites listed in "Sources" to set the time zone designation for each county.




A dataframe with 3,143 rows and 4 variables:


A numeric vector giving the county's four- or five-digit Federal Information Processing Standard (FIPS) code


A character vector with the county's Olson/IANA time zone designation


A character vector giving the county's name


A character vector giving the county's state


Some counties cover more than one time zone designation. For example, parts of Coconino, Navajo, and Apache Counties in Arizona follow Daylight Savings Time, while other parts of the county do not. We tried to designate county-level time zones based on the time zone used in the majority of the county, based on population. When aggregating from multiple monitors in a county, the time zone should be left in UTC until data is aggregated, then the final value can be converted to local time, rather than converting to local time before aggregating across a county.


See Also


countytimezones documentation built on May 2, 2019, 9:35 a.m.