secretsmanager_delete_secret: Deletes an entire secret and all of its versions

Description Usage Arguments Details Request syntax Examples

View source: R/secretsmanager_operations.R

Description

Deletes an entire secret and all of its versions. You can optionally include a recovery window during which you can restore the secret. If you don't specify a recovery window value, the operation defaults to 30 days. Secrets Manager attaches a DeletionDate stamp to the secret that specifies the end of the recovery window. At the end of the recovery window, Secrets Manager deletes the secret permanently.

Usage

1
2
secretsmanager_delete_secret(SecretId, RecoveryWindowInDays,
  ForceDeleteWithoutRecovery)

Arguments

SecretId

[required] Specifies the secret that you want to delete. You can specify either the Amazon Resource Name (ARN) or the friendly name of the secret.

If you specify an ARN, we generally recommend that you specify a complete ARN. You can specify a partial ARN too—for example, if you don't include the final hyphen and six random characters that Secrets Manager adds at the end of the ARN when you created the secret. A partial ARN match can work as long as it uniquely matches only one secret. However, if your secret has a name that ends in a hyphen followed by six characters (before Secrets Manager adds the hyphen and six characters to the ARN) and you try to use that as a partial ARN, then those characters cause Secrets Manager to assume that you're specifying a complete ARN. This confusion can cause unexpected results. To avoid this situation, we recommend that you don't create secret names that end with a hyphen followed by six characters.

RecoveryWindowInDays

(Optional) Specifies the number of days that Secrets Manager waits before it can delete the secret. You can't use both this parameter and the ForceDeleteWithoutRecovery parameter in the same API call.

This value can range from 7 to 30 days. The default value is 30.

ForceDeleteWithoutRecovery

(Optional) Specifies that the secret is to be deleted without any recovery window. You can't use both this parameter and the RecoveryWindowInDays parameter in the same API call.

An asynchronous background process performs the actual deletion, so there can be a short delay before the operation completes. If you write code to delete and then immediately recreate a secret with the same name, ensure that your code includes appropriate back off and retry logic.

Use this parameter with caution. This parameter causes the operation to skip the normal waiting period before the permanent deletion that AWS would normally impose with the RecoveryWindowInDays parameter. If you delete a secret with the ForceDeleteWithouRecovery parameter, then you have no opportunity to recover the secret. It is permanently lost.

Details

At any time before recovery window ends, you can use RestoreSecret to remove the DeletionDate and cancel the deletion of the secret.

You cannot access the encrypted secret information in any secret that is scheduled for deletion. If you need to access that information, you must cancel the deletion with RestoreSecret and then retrieve the information.

Minimum permissions

To run this command, you must have the following permissions:

Related operations

Request syntax

1
2
3
4
5
svc$delete_secret(
  SecretId = "string",
  RecoveryWindowInDays = 123,
  ForceDeleteWithoutRecovery = TRUE|FALSE
)

Examples

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
# The following example shows how to delete a secret. The secret stays in
# your account in a deprecated and inaccessible state until the recovery
# window ends. After the date and time in the DeletionDate response field
# has passed, you can no longer recover this secret with restore-secret.
svc$delete_secret(
  RecoveryWindowInDays = 7L,
  SecretId = "MyTestDatabaseSecret1"
)

paws.security.identity documentation built on Oct. 30, 2019, 11:26 a.m.